LANDBANK, COOP NATCCO Partylist meet to advance co-op cause

(seated) LANDBANK President and CEO Cecilia C. Borromeo (3 rd from right) meets with COOP NATCCO Partylist Representative Hon. Felimon M. Espares (4 th from right) and other partner cooperatives on 10 November 2022 to discuss areas of cooperation to respond to the issues and concerns faced by cooperatives nationwide.

Land Bank of the Philippines (LANDBANK) President and CEO Cecilia C. Borromeo
received COOP NATCCO Partylist Representative Hon. Felimon M. Espares and other
partner cooperatives on 10 November 2022 at the LANDBANK head office, to discuss
possible areas of partnership related to legislation to advance the cooperative sector
in the country.

President Borromeo welcomed the dialogue initiative to further strengthen
LANDBANK’s continuing efforts to provide financial and technical assistance to co-
ops nationwide.

During the group’s courtesy call, LANDBANK discussed available financial support to
public transport cooperatives through the SPEED PUV Lending Program, which offers
affordable financing for the purchase of more efficient and safer vehicles, in line with
the National Government’s Public Utility Vehicle Modernization Program (PUVMP).

In partnership with the Department of Transportation (DOTr), the transport co-ops
will soon utilize the Automated Fare Collection System (AFCS), to provide commuters
convenient and safe cashless payments in Public Utility Vehicles (PUVs).

The state-run Bank also proposed collaborative initiatives to support the digital
transformation of local cooperatives engaged in other industries, and cited various
digitalization benefits by local government partners as examples of trailblazing digital

Towards building stronger and more resilient communities, President Borromeo
likewise expressed the continued commitment of LANDBANK to provide intensified
support to the agriculture sector through co-ops represented by the Partylist group.

Rep. Espares was joined in the consultative meeting by Renato G. Dela Cruz, Vice
Chairperson of San Dionisio Credit Cooperative; Brian A. Yap, CEO of the Cebu
Peoples Cooperative; Edmund B. Cadavona, Chairperson of the National Federation
of Transport Cooperatives; Marlene Sindayen, General Manager of Novaliches
Development Cooperative and Representative of the National Anti-Poverty
Commission, among other co-op partners.

Meanwhile, LANDBANK President Borromeo was with Senior Vice President Filipina B.
Monje, Vice President Vivian M. Cañonero, and Assistant Vice Presidents Leonardo D.
Aurellana, Jr. and Generoso S. David, and Program Officer Gliceria B. Angeles.

Facebook Comments